The Unthanks


Purchase on Amazon
  1. Because He Was a Bonny Lad
  2. Sad February
  3. Annachie Gordon
  4. Lucky Gilchrist
  5. The Testimony of Patience Kershaw
  6. Living by the Water
  7. Where've Yer Bin Dick?
  8. Nobody Knew Shew Was There
  9. Flowers of the Town
  10. Not Much Luck in Our House
  11. At First She Starts
  12. Here's the Tender Coming
  13. Hidden track: "Betsy Bell" (Traditional, arranged by The Unthanks)


Out of stock

“Even more satisfying, compelling and varied than the Mercury-nominated The Bairns. Haunting, original and magnificent”
4 stars, The Guardian

“an exquisite mixture of light and dark, instinct and artistry”
4 stars, Uncut

“Folk music’s most beguiling act is back”
4.5 stars The Sun

“There is nothing obvious about this album”
4 Stars Observer Music Magazine

“..a rare, undisciplined magic..this is another formidable work”

“Absolutely exquisite. A real work of art. I will be playing it at least forever”
Paul Morley

“When confronted with music as splendid as this, it’s easy to be swept along on a wave of purple prose. “Beautiful”, “haunting”, and “beguiling” are all words that spring easily to mind whilst listening to this astonishing record..even such effusive descriptions drastically undersell”
BBC Music Reviews

“My favorite county record of 2009. The county of Northumberland, that is. The supernatural singing from Rachel and Becky Unthank and the lovely arrangements are three reasons to hear this wonderful album.”
Elvis Costello

Following on from their Mercury Prize nomination, Rachel and Becky returned with a name tweak (The Unthanks), revised line-up and a brand new album that rests not one jot on the sound that earned them the only British folk entry in The Guardian’s and Uncut’s Albums of the Decade.

“The Bairns was so bleak and sparse that we didn’t feel we could build on its intensity,” explained Rachel at the time, “and besides, we like to keep stimulated and moving creatively. We were never going to do the opposite and make a happy album!.. but Here’s The Tender Coming is hopefully a warmer, calmer shade of sad than The Bairns.” The album earned the band their first appearance on Later With Jools Holland, and they toured it across the world. Having produced and arranged much of the first two albums, Adrian McNally finally took to the piano stool, allowing Stef Conner to return to finish the final year of her PHD, having kept her studies going while playing over 100 shows in the shoes of departed Winterset member Belinda O’Hooley.

Uk Release: 2009 EMI / RabbleRouser Music
Europe/North America: 2009 Rough Trade
Australia: 2010 Shock Records