The Unthanks


  1. On a Monday Morning
  2. January Man
  3. Fair Rosamund
  4. Cruel Sister
  5. Rap Her to Bank
  6. Raven Girl
  7. Twenty Long Weeks
  8. The Fair Flower of Northumberland
  9. The Greatham Calling on Song
  10. Riverman
  11. Bonny at Morn
  12. John Dead
  13. Troubled Waters


Out of stock

“joyous…refreshingly forthright and in-yer-face”
Mojo Magazine Folk Album of the Year 2005

“Simply gripping..their ambition knows no bounds..such a gratifying album”

“Beautiful, beautiful music”
Phil Jupitus

The debut album by Rachel Unthank & The Winterset was released in May 2005. At the end of 2005, Cruel Sister was made Mojo Magazine Folk Album of the Year. Recorded on a shoe-string budget, Cruel Sister captured honest performances, using basic production values to create a listening experience akin to being in the same room as the performers. The album won them affection from folk purists, the mainstream music world and from leftfield music circles alike, inspiring Phil Jupitus to broadcast an unaccompanied mining song on daytime BBC 6 Music.

The album was produced by Adrian McNally, who would eventually go on to be an on stage member of The Unthanks. McNally put a team around the Unthank sisters that included Belinda O’Hooley and Jackie Oates, who would go on to be full time members of the Winterset, before parting ways in 2007.

(2005 RabbleRouser Music RR005)